Propellor is a configuration management system using Haskell and Git. Each system has a list of properties, which Propellor ensures are satisfied. Linux and FreeBSD are supported.

Propellor is configured via a git repository, which typically lives in ~/.propellor/ on your development machine. Propellor clones the repository to each host it manages, in a secure way. See components for details.

Properties are defined using Haskell. Edit ~/.propellor/config.hs to get started. There is fairly complete API documentation, which includes many built-in Properties for dealing with Apt and Apache , Cron and Commands , Dns and Docker, etc.

There is no special language as used in puppet, chef, ansible, etc.. just the full power of Haskell. Hopefully that power can be put to good use in making declarative properties that are powerful, nicely idempotent, and easy to adapt to a system's special needs!

If using Haskell to configure Propellor seems intimidating, see configuration for the Haskell newbie.

quick start

  1. Get propellor installed on your development machine (ie, laptop). cabal install propellor or apt-get install propellor
  2. Run propellor --init ; this will set up a ~/.propellor/ git repository for you.
  3. Edit ~/.propellor/config.hs, and add a host you want to manage. You can start by not adding any properties, or only a few.
  4. Run: propellor --spin $HOST
  5. Now you have a simple propellor deployment to a host. Continue editing ~/.propellor/config.hs to further configure the host, add more hosts etc, and re-run propellor --spin $HOST after each change.
  6. Once you have a lot of hosts, and running propellor --spin HOST for each host becomes tiresome, you can automate that.
  7. Write some neat new properties and send patches!

news

version 3.1.1
Posted Thu Jun 23 12:16:02 2016
version 3.1.0
Posted Wed Jun 22 21:34:53 2016
version 3.0.5
Posted Mon Jun 6 21:16:25 2016
propellor demo
Posted Mon Sep 15 18:49:16 2014

enjoy

Hope you find Propellor fun and useful!

Propellor is free software, licensed under the BSD license.

You are encouraged to send patches and improve it.
See contributing.

posts

type safe multi-OS Propellor
Posted Mon Mar 28 11:29:18 2016 by joey
letsencrypt support in propellor
Posted Sun Feb 7 22:10:20 2016 by joey
propelling disk images
Posted Fri Oct 23 02:09:17 2015 by joey
propellor orchestration
Posted Thu Oct 22 01:02:58 2015 by joey
then and now
Posted Thu Aug 27 00:01:59 2015 by joey
making propellor safer with GADTs and type families
Posted Sun Jan 25 03:54:14 2015 by joey
clean OS reinstalls with propellor
Posted Fri Dec 5 20:24:32 2014 by joey
propelling containers
Posted Fri Nov 21 21:33:06 2014 by joey
propellor is d-i 2.0
Posted Mon Sep 8 09:32:25 2014 by joey
how I wrote init by accident
Posted Wed May 14 15:05:49 2014 by joey
propellor-driven DNS and backups
Posted Sat Apr 19 07:08:45 2014 by joey
propellor introspection for DNS
Posted Fri Apr 11 05:05:54 2014 by joey
propellor type-safe reversions
Posted Wed Apr 2 17:09:02 2014 by joey
adding docker support to propellor
Posted Tue Apr 1 08:22:41 2014 by joey
introducing propellor
Posted Sun Mar 30 07:50:42 2014 by joey
                      --     _         ______`|                          ,-.__ 
 {- Propellor          --  /   \___-=O`/|O`/__|                         (____.'
    Deployed -}         -- \          / | /    )             _.-"-._
                        --  `/-==__ _/__|/__=-|             (       \_
hosts :: [Host]        --   *             \ | |              '--------'
hosts =               --                  (o)  `